FEMALE VOICES 2023: You don't escape the glory of life. Katherine Mansfield and her time

Oct 07, 2023
7:30 PM

Email contact:

Trio Artemis


  • Liliana Heimberg
  • Trio Artemis


With the concert series FRAUENSTIMMEN, whose concerts have been held regularly since 2010, the Maria-Anna-Mozart-Gesellschaft organises Austria's longest-running concert series dedicated to the music of female composers.

Liliana Heimberg reads texts by Katherine Mansfield, the Trio Artemis (Katja Hess, violin, Bettina Macher, violoncello, Felicitas Strack, piano) plays works by her contemporaries Ethel Smyth (1858-1944), Dora Pejačević (1885-1923), Mel Bonis (1858-1937) and Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979).

The actress and director Liliana Heimberg reads selected stories, diary excerpts and other writings by the author. Mansfield's works captivate with their precise descriptions and keen powers of observation - sometimes they are humorous, sometimes melancholic and tender, but always extremely incisive and accurate. 

The musicians of the Trio Artemis accompany the reading atmospherically. The ensemble juxtaposes Katherine Mansfield's work with late romantic-impressionist music by female composers of the time: Pieces by Rebecca Clarke, Amy Beach, Ethel Smyth and Dora Pejaćevič and others bring Mansfield's words to life and form a fitting musical counterpart - after all, the writer herself cultivated a close relationship with music and almost became a cellist.

With their programme, the Trio Artemis and Liliana Heimberg commemorate an icon of literature and a special woman.