Season Concerts

Piano Duo:
Robert Levin & Ya-Fei Chuang

May 13, 2025
7:30 PM
Salzburg Mozarteum Foundation, Großer Saal
Pillar or wheelchair space

Email contact:

Robert Levin und Ya-Fei Chuang


  • Robert Levin (Piano)
  • Ya-Fei Chuang (Piano)


Johann Sebastian Bach
Italian Concerto in F major BWV 971
From The Art of Fugue BWV 1080: Contrapuncti for two pianos 18/1 and 18/2

Fugue in C for two claviers K. 426

Franz Schubert
From Fantasy in F minor for piano four hands op. 103, D 940: Finale alla Fuga

Paul Hindemith
Piano music op. 37, 1st part: Exercise in three pieces 

Franz Liszt
Réminiscences de Don Juan p. 418
after Mozart's Don Giovanni

When Mozart came into contact with works by the great Johann Sebastian Bach at the beginning of his time in Vienna, he began to experiment with new forms, in particular with the art of the fugue. The fugue, which is the focus of the programme by the celebrated piano duo Robert Levin and Ya-Fei Chuang and ties in with the main theme of Mozart Week 2025, Destination Mozart, developed from musical precursors such as the canon and experienced its heyday in the 17th century. Bach mastered fugue composition to perfection. In his ground-breaking cycle The Art of Fugue, he demonstrates the musical principle of polyphonic polyphony in all its refinements - from the simple four-part fugue to counter-fugues, double fugues, triple fugues and mirror fugues.