Suchergebnisse

News

The latest news about everything happening in the Salzburg Mozarteum Foundation around Mozart Week, Season concerts, the Mozart Museums and the research about Mozart.

All letters by Leopold Mozart to his daughter Maria Anna online

23.06.16

The Online Edition – Mozart letters and documents, a project of the Digital Mozart Edition at the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg, is proud to present all 133 letters by Leopold Mozart to his daughter. They are to be found online at http://dme.mozarteum.at/briefe/. On 23 August 1784, Maria Anna Mozart married Johann Baptist Franz von Berchtold zu Sonnenburg, Highprincely-Salzburg Councillor and Guardian of St. Gilgen. Hence, she moved to that small village, six hours by coach from Salzburg. From this moment on, Leopold Mozart wrote letters to her regularly, which are full of highly interesting information about Salzburg musical life, politics, his daily routine, and the health of his grandchild Leopold, born on 15 July 1785, who Maria Anna let grow up with his grandfather; furthermore, the letters are important as they report numerous details from letters by Wolfgang Amadé Mozart that are currently lost.

These letters are a significant complement to 247 other letters by Leopold Mozart already published earlier and 375 letters by his son Wolfgang Amadé from the years 1769 to 1791. A total of 1128 letters and documents are now available in the online edition, which is continuously being updated; they include parts of the correspondence by other members of the Mozart family, numerous documents from the 19th century, as well as a „Friendship Book“ of Mozart youngest son, Franz Xaver Wolfgang, preserved at the archive of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg. The letters are displayed in a line-by-line transcription and with digital images of those letters held by the Foundation. Every letter is available in a reading version in PDF format.

The correspondence of the Mozart family, the larger part of which is held by the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg, is a treasure of world cultural heritage. The letters provide a glimpse into the everyday life of the Mozart family and are also an important source for the history of music in the 18th century.

Mozarteum

Suchergebnisse

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
press_release
events
museums
Filter by Categories
Research
Unkategorisiert

Nachrichten

Lesen Sie die neuesten Nachrichten über Alles, was in der Stiftung Mozarteum rund um die Mozartwoche, die Saisonkonzerte, die Mozart-Museen, die Wissenschaft und in anderen Bereichen passiert.

Sämtliche Briefe Leopold Mozarts an seine Tochter Maria Anna online

Die Online-Edition – Mozart Briefe und Dokumente, ein Projekt der Digitalen Mozart-Edition an der Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg, präsentiert ab sofort alle 133 Briefe Leopold Mozarts an seine Tochter in St. Gilgen.

Die Briefe sind online unter http://dme.mozarteum.at/briefe/ zugänglich. Am 23. August 1784 heiratete Maria Anna Mozart den hochfürstlich-salzburgischen Rat und Pfleger zu St. Gilgen Baptist Franz von Berchtold zu Sonnenburg. Sie zog somit an dessen Dienstort, sechs Stunden mit der Kutsche von Salzburg entfernt. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt schrieb Leopold Mozart bis zu seinem Tod im Mai 1787 regelmäßig an seine Tochter. Die Briefe enthalten zahlreiche Informationen über das Salzburger Musikleben, über Politik und Alltagsleben, die Gesundheit des am 15. Juli 1785 geborenen Enkels Leopold, den Maria Anna beim Großvater aufwachsen ließ; besondere Bedeutung kommt ihnen dadurch zu, dass sie zahlreiche Details aus heute verlorenen Briefen Wolfgang Amadé Mozarts an seinen Vater übermitteln.

Die nun online gestellten Dokumente bilden eine wichtige Ergänzung zu den bereits publizierten 247 früheren Briefen Leopold Mozarts sowie den 375 Briefen seines Sohnes Wolfgang Amadé aus den Jahren 1769 bis 1791. In der Online-Edition, die stetig erweitert wird, sind inzwischen insgesamt 1128 Briefe und Dokumente verfügbar; hierzu zählen Teile der Korrespondenz weiterer Mitglieder der Familie Mozart, zahlreiche Schriftstücke des 19. Jahrhunderts sowie ein Stammbuch des jüngsten Mozart-Sohnes Franz Xaver Wolfgang aus dem Archiv der Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg. Sie werden mit digitalen Bildern der Originale aus dem Besitz der Stiftung und einer parallelen, zeilengetreuen Textübertragung präsentiert. Zu jedem Brief ist auch eine Lesefassung als PDF abrufbar.