Mozarteum

Search Results

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
press_release
events
museums
Filter by Categories
Research
Uncategorized

Bibliotheca Mozartiana

The Bibliotheca Mozartiana can trace back its origins to donations and bequests made by Mozart’s widow Constanze and by their two sons Carl Thomas and Franz Xaver. This is the only library in the world to specialize in Mozart and it owns the largest collection of original letters from the Mozart family as well as valuable music autographs, historical writings and printed scores. Its holdings continue to grow, our aim being to collect all the important publications on Mozart that have appeared throughout the world. The library is also seeking systematically to expand its collection of historical sources in the form of autographs, manuscripts, scores and books relating to the Mozart family and their historical circle.

 

The origins of the present library may be found in the library of the Cathedral Music Society and Mozarteum that was founded in 1841, a society that was split in two in 1880, leading to the formation of the International Mozarteum Foundation and the Cathedral Music Society (later the Cathedral Choir). In the wake of this split the scores and books previously held by the 1841 society were divided between the two new institutions. As a result certain parts of the historical collection – mainly church music – are now in the Archives of the Archdiocese of Salzburg, but the bulk of the holdings, including all of Mozart’s original letters and music autographs, is now preserved in the Bibliotheca Mozartiana.

 

But these historical holdings extend far beyond Mozart himself. The main reason for this state of affairs is that since 1841 the Cathedral Music Society and Mozarteum and its successor, the International Mozarteum Foundation, have seen it as an essential part of their activities to maintain a school of music under the name of the Mozarteum. In 1914 this school of music was raised to the status of a conservatory and in 1922 its running was taken over by the Austrian state. It was on the basis of this institution that today’s Mozarteum University finally came into existence.

 

Since the library served for a long time as a college and conservatory library in addition to promoting a practical and scholarly interest in Mozart’s works, a broad range of new scores and – to a lesser extent – writings on the theory of music were constantly being added to its holdings.

 

At the same time the library has repeatedly received important new additions in the form of gifts and bequests, the most significant of which have come from Mozart’s two sons. Not only did they own original compositions by their father, they had themselves collected music of every kind both from the earlier period and from their own day. As a result the library owns numerous autographs of works by Johann Georg Mederitsch, who was known as Gallus and who taught Franz Xaver Mozart, as well as works by Gluck, the Bach family, Beethoven and Carl Maria von Weber.

 

Last but by no means least the library houses the scores of works by contemporary composers that were commissioned by the Mozarteum Foundation and performed at its two annual festivals, the Mozart Week Festival and Dialogues.

 

So far only a part of the library’s extensive holdings have been made available to the general public via its online catalogue. Work is currently in progress to provide a full list of its holdings.

 

Audiovisual media may be found in the independent Mozart Sound and Film Collection, the largest specialized archive for sound and video recordings relating to Mozart’s life and works.

 

For German readers, further information may be found in

Johanna Senigl, “Bibliothek der Internationalen Stiftung Mozarteum” in Handbuch der historischen Buchbestände in Deutschland, Österreich und Europa, ed. Bernhard Fabian (Hildesheim: Olms Neue Medien, 2003), digitalized by Günter Kükenshöner and accessible at Uni Goettingen

Ulrich Leisinger, “Die Bibliotheca Mozartiana der Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg: Eine Spezialbibliothek im Wandel der Zeiten”, Forum Musikbibliothek: Beiträge und Informationen aus der musikbibliothekarischen Praxis, 31 (2010): 214–24 and 314–320.

Suchergebnisse

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
press_release
events
museums
Filter by Categories
Research
Unkategorisiert

Bibliotheca Mozartiana

Die Bibliotheca Mozartiana geht auf Schenkungen und Vermächtnisse von Mozarts Witwe Constanze sowie der Söhne Carl Thomas und Franz Xaver zurück. Die weltweit einzige Spezialbibliothek zu Mozart besitzt die größte Sammlung von originalen Briefen der Mozart-Familie, wertvolle Musikautographen, historische Schriften und Notendrucke. Der Bestand wird stetig ausgebaut, wobei versucht wird alle wesentlichen, weltweit erscheinenden Veröffentlichungen über Mozart zu sammeln. Auch bemüht sich die Bibliothek, ihren Bestand an historischen Quellen (Autographen, Handschriften, Noten und Bücher) zur Mozart-Familie und deren historischem Umfeld systematisch zu erweitern.

Die Ursprünge der heutigen Bibliothek liegen in der Bibliothek des 1841 gegründeten Dommusikverein und Mozarteum, der sich 1880 in die Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum und den Dommusikverein (den späteren Domchor) aufspaltete. In Folge dieser Trennung wurde auch der Bestand an Musikalien und Büchern zwischen den beiden Institutionen aufgeteilt. Ein Teil des ehemaligen historischen Bestandes (mit dem Schwerpunkt Kirchenmusik) befindet sich daher heute im Archiv der Erzdiözese Salzburg. Ein Großteil, darunter sämtliche Brief- und Musik-Autographen Mozarts, wird heute aber in der Bibliotheca Mozartiana verwahrt.

Der historische Bestand geht jedoch weit über Mozart hinaus. Dies hat seinen Grund hauptsächlich in der Tatsache, dass seit 1841 der Dommusikverein und Mozarteum bzw. die spätere Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum als wesentlichen Bestandteil ihrer Aktivitäten auch eine Musikschule unter dem Namen Mozarteum unterhielt, die 1914 zum Konservatorium erhoben wurde. Aus dieser Einrichtung, die im Jahr 1922 vom österreichischen Staat übernommen wurde, entwickelte sich schließlich die heutige Universität Mozarteum.

Da die Bibliothek also neben der praktischen und wissenschaftlichen Beschäftigung mit dem Werk Mozarts lange Zeit auch als Musikschul- bzw. Konservatoriumsbibliothek diente, wurden stets auf breiter Basis aktuelle Musikalien und (in geringerem Umfang) auch musiktheoretische Schriften gesammelt.

Zum anderen erhielt die Bibliothek mehrfach bedeutenden Zuwachs durch Geschenke und Vermächtnisse – allen voran der beiden Söhne Mozarts. Sie besaßen nicht nur Kompositionen ihres Vaters, sondern sammelten selbst sowohl ältere als auch aktuelle Musik ihrer Zeit aus den verschiedensten Sparten. So besitzt die Bibliothek auch zahlreiche Autographen Johann Georg Mederitsch, gen. Gallus (dem Lehrer Franz Xaver Mozarts), Werke von Gluck, der Bach-Familie, aber auch Kompositionen von Beethoven oder Carl Maria von Weber.

Nicht zuletzt verwahrt die Bibliothek auch das Notenmaterial von Werken zeitgenössischer Komponisten, die im Auftrag der Stiftung Mozarteum entstanden sind und bei den beiden jährlichen Festivals, der Mozartwoche und den Dialogen aufgeführt wurden.

Bislang ist nur ein Teil des umfangreichen Bestandes über den Online-Katalog zugänglich. An einer vollständigen Verzeichnung in Online-Katalogen wird derzeit intensiv gearbeitet.

Audiovisuelle Medien finden Sie in der eigenständigen Mozart Ton- und Filmsammlung, dem größten Spezialarchiv für Ton- und Bildaufnahmen zu Leben und Werk Mozarts.

 

Weitere Informationen:

Johanna Senigl: Bibliothek der Internationalen Stiftung Mozarteum, in: Handbuch der historischen Buchbestände in Deutschland, Österreich und Europa. Digitalisiert von Günter Kükenshöner. Hrsg. von Bernhard Fabian. Hildesheim: Olms Neue Medien 2003

Ulrich Leisinger:  Die Bibliotheca Mozartiana der Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg: eine Spezialbibliothek im Wandel der Zeiten, in: Forum Musikbibliothek. Beiträge und Informationen aus der musikbibliothekarischen Praxis, Bd. 31 (2010), S. 214-224 und S. 314-320.