Concert

CHORAGE® #3
Bachchor goes Jazz!

Dates
Nov 05, 2024
7:30 PM
Szene Salzburg
Tickets

Email contact:

tickets@mozarteum.at

Benjamin Hartmann

Performers

  • Bachchor Salzburg
  • Bigband of the Mozarteum University (conductor: Christoph Pepe Auer)
  • Eva Klampfer (Soprano)
  • Benjamin Hartmann (Conductor)

Programme

Jukka Linkola (*1955)
"Mieliteku" and "Iltalaulu" from the cycle "Mieliteko" 

New work (commissioned by the Bach Choir Salzburg)
(world premiere)

Duke Ellington (1899-1974)
Sacred Concert
(Arr.: John Høybye, Peder Pedersen)

After Bruckner's 200th birthday, the Bach Choir also commemorates the 50th anniversary of the death of jazz legend Duke Ellington in CHORAGE® 2024. Together with the Mozarteum University Big Band, the choir explores the jazzy sounds and rhythms of Ellington's "Sacred Concert".

Ellington, who himself was very devout, did not conceive his Sacred Concert as a complete work, but rather wrote individual parts for various occasions, so that the work was reassembled again and again. On tour, he played the various "Sacred Concerts" with his band, sometimes together with local church choirs, which made the works widely popular. Three "Sacred Concerts" have been handed down by Duke Ellington, and the Danish choral composer John Høybye and big band leader Peder Pedersen have combined the different versions into an integral version with some new arrangements, which today enjoys great international popularity. The Bach Choir and Mozarteum Big Band will sing a rousing hymn of praise to the divine as equal partners.

Two works by Finnish composer Jukka Linkola, who brings a wealth of jazz experience to his compositions as a big band leader, will also be performed. In his a cappella choral work "Mieliteko" (= lust, desire), Linkola turns his attention to interpersonal idolatry, which he illuminates with groove and exciting jazz harmonies. The Finnish text is by no means dry, but rather extremely lively.

In addition, Jukka Linkola has been commissioned by the Bach Choir to compose a new work: taking up the common thread of the spiritual and personal idolatry, Linkola uses old poetic texts from Nordic mythology to search for a musical bridge between the two worlds, oscillating between God and the individual, between classical music and jazz, between archaic myth and modern jazz sounds. 

In any case, this concert will bring spirituality and jazz together with relish!

Konzert

CHORAGE® #3
Bachchor goes Jazz!

Termine
05. Nov. 2024
19:30
Szene Salzburg
Tickets

Oder schreiben Sie uns eine Email:

tickets@mozarteum.at

Benjamin Hartmann

Künstler

  • Bachchor Salzburg
  • Bigband der Universität Mozarteum (Leitung: Christoph Pepe Auer)
  • Eva Klampfer (Sopran)
  • Benjamin Hartmann (Dirigent)

Programm

Jukka Linkola (*1955) 
„Mieliteku“ und „Iltalaulu“ aus dem Zyklus „Mieliteko“ 

Neues Werk (Kompositionsauftrag des Bachchors Salzburg)
(Uraufführung)

Duke Ellington (1899–1974) 
Sacred Concert 
(Arr.: John Høybye, Peder Pedersen) 


Nach Bruckners 200. Geburtstag gedenkt der Bachchor in CHORAGE® 2024 auch des 50. Todestages der Jazz-Legende Duke Ellington. Gemeinsam mit der Bigband der Universität Mozarteum exploriert der Chor die jazzigen Klänge und Rhythmen von Ellingtons „Sacred Concert“.

Ellington, der selbst sehr gläubig war, konzipierte sein Geistliches Konzert nicht als Gesamtwerk, vielmehr schrieb er einzelne Teile für diverse Anlässe, sodass das Werk immer wieder neu zusammengesetzt wurde. Auf Tour spielte er die verschiedenen „Sacred Concerts“ mit seiner Band bisweilen gemeinsam mit lokalen Kirchenchören, wodurch die Werke weithin populär wurde. Drei „Sacred Concerts“ sind von Duke Ellington überliefert, der dänische Chorkomponist John Høybye und Bigbandleiter Peder Pedersen haben die unterschiedlichen Versionen zu einer integralen Fassung mit teilweise neuen Arrangements vereint, die sich heute international großer Beliebtheit erfreut. So werden Bachchor und Mozarteum Bigband als gleichberechtigte Partner einen mitreißenden Lobpreis auf das Göttliche anstimmen.

Dazu werden zwei Werke des Finnen Jukka Linkola erklingen, der als Bigbandleiter viel Jazz-Erfahrung in seine Kompositionen einbringt. Linkola wendet sich in seinem A-cappella-Chorwerk „Mieliteko“ (=Lust, Verlangen) der zwischenmenschlichen Vergötterung zu, die er mit Groove und spannender Jazzharmonik ausleuchtet. Der finnische Text kommt dabei keineswegs trocken, sondern ungemein lebendig zur Geltung.

Außerdem komponiert Jukka Linkola im Auftrag des Bachchores ein neues Werk: Darin den roten Faden des Geistlichen und die persönliche Vergötterung aufnehmend, geht Linkola mit alten poetischen Texten aus der nordischen Mythologie auf die Suche nach einer musikalischen Brücke zwischen beiden Welten, die zwischen Gott und Individuum, zwischen Klassik und Jazz, zwischen archaischem Mythos und modernen Jazzklängen changiert. 

In jedem Fall werden mit diesem Konzert Spiritualität und Jazz lustvoll zueinanderfinden!